On The Run

“Hide yo kids, hide yo wife, hide yo husband cuz these bus drivers are ridiculous.”

As I comfortably settle in South Korea, the one thing I can never get use to is the Korean bus driver road rage. Let this be a disclaimer that I am in no form judging them because I’m no better when it comes to driving. But I feel this karma for I use to joke around and say Asians don’t know how to drive and now I’m paying the price.

To paint a vivid picture, picture yourself having to take the bus with a person behind the wheel who always seem to have woken up on the wrong side of the bed everyday. Some days he stops in the middle of the street instead of pulling into the bus curve( Where he’s suppose to park) and expects you to rush to get in. Drives off before you even find your balance to walk to your seat. Coming to a halt where you feel the whip lash coming in if you didn’t sit right or driving over speed bumps as if nothing is there to slow you down. My favorite is how much they honk their horns. If I got a dollar for every time they honked their horn, I would have enough to pay for my bus fare this year and more. Yes, it’s that serious. I mean if you look at them the wrong way, they will honk..at least that’s what i think since they honk for everything. And how can I forget how they seem to drive off nonchalantly when they see people rushing to the bus. All I can do is look and shake my head. They never seem to amaze me.

As i write this, it’s done light heartedly because where ever you go, you will find people who makes you wonder if they paid the dmv a ton of money to pass them without taking the test. But at the same time, all I am saying is, if you are feeling some time of way before you get on your duty, please don’t take your wrath out on us poor innocent passengers. Lol

Until next time…

2 thoughts on “On The Run

Leave a comment